Skip to content

Our Basketball League is Fucking Terrible

January 5, 2015

Rogers Hornsby (click the tab at the top of the page) found winters tough. Mendoza runs a fantasy basketball league to try to tide us over. There’s some decent overlap with the baseball league: Mendoza, Coach, Saget, me, and Jose.

Jose is an interesting case. Like in baseball, Jose is one of the league’s bottom-feeders, but he’s Mendoza’s cousin, so it is what it is. As far as I know, Jose’s the only one in my fantasy circle to ever be full-time employed by a pro sports team. (My consultancy stuff is strictly piecework.) As it happens, it was a basketball team, the Raptors. So on the one hand you’d expect him to be the league’s best player, but he just kind of sucks as always. Maybe that explains why the Raptors started doing better after Jose left?

Jose’s poor play aside, my god this league sucks. Nobody chats. Trade offers are quite rare. The league’s Burger-equivalent doesn’t even bitch publicly about the league’s very occasional deal–he snivels in private to Mendoza via e-mail. Mendoza, for his part, has made the season as short as possible so it won’t interfere too much with baseball, but won’t grant me the pleasure of posting a snivelling e-mail so I can tear it to shreds. (I actually make very few trades in that league. Saget has made 8. No one else has made more than 4.)

It just makes me miss GCBL more.

Extra Bags, “Is that all?!” Edition: I’m not going to sit here and try to tell you that $2.25M is not a lot of money. I’m 42, and I haven’t made that much in my life. But are you telling me that one year for $2.25M is all Delmon Young could get in free agency from the O’s? That’s cheap.

I did get the memo that he’s a head case. I do know that he’s shit in the outfield. I have no idea if he can play first but I’m guessing not. But he hit .302 in a part time role last year (242 AB) with an .722/.809 OPS vs. lefties/righties for a .779 OPS overall. Are you telling me somebody couldn’t guarantee him $3M-$4M, give him the 574 AB he got in Detroit in 2012, and hope he gives back the same 18 HR?

The Yankees could have, but lost interest when they discovered Young was still only 29. “If he was 39 and had more of a steroid history, we’d take a look,” Yankees GM Brian Cashman didn’t say. “But he’s 29 and we’re not interested in athletes in their peak power years. Once he’s old and broken, we’ll make him a rich man.”

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Copper permalink

    Man, you are dyin’ for some baseball…the withdrawl symptoms are getting worse by the article.

  2. Copper permalink

    The way I figure, you’ll be on that cruise in Italy wearing a baseball glove.

Leave a Reply

