Skip to content

The Tools of Ignorance

April 27, 2015

Overheard on SmackTalk (which, if you’re not participating in, you’re really missing out):

  • Copper
    Today, 12:35 PM
    Shawn trades for catcher. Pigs fly.

Well let’s see. Here’s Curacao’s Rent-a-Mask experiment so far via the team log:

Jarrod Saltalamacchia 2/22, .200 OBP, 1 HR, 1 RBI, 2 XBH, 2 R

Chris Iannetta 1/21, .250 OBP, 0 HR, 1 RBI, 0 XBH, 0 R

Before you say “you bailed out on Salty too early”, he hit the DL four days after I cut him for Iannetta.

In short, I was effectively running a blank-or-worse at the catcher spot, and that needed fixing. Buster Posey, he of the .668 OPS, is underperforming so he seemed like a worthwhile target. The good news on Posey is that when he’s in the line-up he’s only actually catching about 60% of the time, not making him impervious to injury but at least making injury a little less likely. Whatever San Francisco’s park is called for commercial reasons (how I loved it when the XFL’s Demons affectionally dubbed it the Hell Hole), it actually opens the season on a sliding scale and plays league-average after mid-May.

But let’s come back to the blank-thing again. I can live with a replacement-level catcher (.290 OBP, 10 HR, 0 SB, 80 [R+RBI]) but I was starting to have a hell of a hard time finding one. The stats all fall into the same melting pot at the end of the week, so running a blank at Catcher, which some people can live with, is the same as running a blank at first base, which I’m betting almost nobody can live with. So this had to be addressed, and I think I addressed it.

In solving one problem I may have created another, further weakening my pitching, but I’d be far more concerned if I had an ERA over 3.00 or if the pitcher I shipped out had a team-log ERA under 4.00. To be fair, Ross’ real-MLB ERA is 3.97, but his real-MLB WHIP of 1.68 and 28/16 K/BB ratio makes me wonder if last year was a one-off.

I will miss Mike Moustakas but I know he’s going to his spiritual home, so good luck to him.

Last, I know my Norcal homie Coach will always overpay for Giants.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Copper permalink

    Just admit it, I trade for a catcher and you were feeling left out. Try to keep up with the latest trends Shawn.

Leave a Reply

