Skip to content

Pitching Paranoia… I don’t get it.

June 21, 2017

So I don’t think I’m talking out-of-school here when I share a couple comments on trade rejections I got over the last 24 hours.

Comments from Shagsters:
Sorry dude, there’s a premium on pitching this year. I want to keep as much of it as I can, because it’s nearly impossible to replace an ace right now.
Comments from slumpbusters:
I really like this trade but I’m too thin at pitching to lose Cueto

OK, I was trying to trade for pitching, but there’s a couple things I don’t get.

  1. I don’t understand why people think the market values pitching so much. Does Copper ridiculously overpaying for Klubot really have that much of an influence on what pitching is worth. That would further inflate his ego, but it’s bozarre. He made a mistake, the end.
  2. Who needs marquee pitching? Certainly not your humble correspondent, who leads the league in ERA: https://baseball.fantasysports.yahoo.com/b1/726/headtoheadstats?pt=P&type=stats

How do I do it when my ace is… Lance Lynn ?!?!

Well, I have owned him all year…

Lance Lynn, 2017: 78.1 IP, 5 W, 16 HR, 3.33 ERA, 1.16 WHIP, 2.38 K/BB, 6 QS

A useful rotation piece, I think you’ll agree, but not really an ace. The HR are way too high (Lynn throws some fastball variant 90+% of the time), the K/BB is a drag.

But  watch what happens when I use him in careful situations. Don’t start him in Colorado etc.

Lance Lynn, Curacao Littleleague 2017:  52.2 IP, 4 W, 7 HR, 2.05 ERA, 1.05 WHIP, 2.32 ERA, 5 QS.

THERE’S A BIT OF KERSHAW IN THOSE STATS, BABY!

OK, I’m only getting 2/3 of his IP, but I’m getting 80%+ of his W/QS, elite ERA/WHIP, and less than half of his gopher balls.

Don’t overpay for pitching, folks. Use your brain, and let matchups be your guide.

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Shaggy permalink

    I want you to keep Lynn so I know when to start him in another league, great leader.

Leave a Reply

